Electrifying hand dyed yarns, with personality!

Lazer Sheep came into existence when I was in high school. My friend Steph and I were Juniors at the time. To curb our artists block during art class we frequently drew little cartoons, gave them names and back stories, and generally goofed around.

 

The Lazer Sheep eventually spawned a whole army of sheep. Good Sheep. Bad Sheep. Sunday Sheep (complete with hot fudge and a cherry on top). Scuba Sheep. Naked Sheep. Dead Sheep (a personal favorite).

 

A few years out of high school I decided the assorted Sheep needed a public audience. I found a craft fair of sorts and screen printed (poorly) several of my own shirts. Some of them did manage to sell! However they failed in the arena of Etsy.com. I wore my left overs proudly and did get some complements on them, but the Sheep eventually found their way to the back of my closet.

 

A few years ago I got seriously into knitting with another friend of mine, and we entered another craft fair with knit items under the logo of Lazer Sheep, short-lived as it was. It would seem that craft fairs are a little few and far between in Southern California. It probably also doesn’t help that we are in fact in Southern California where winters dip to a chilly 58 degrees, if we’re lucky! Hand knits for the purpose of warmth are not a top priority.

 

I have lofty ideas about selling hand dyed yarn on-line (any tips/tricks of the trade appreciated!), under the Lazer Sheep design. The Lazer Sheep remind me of art classes, and doodling for fun. They make me remember a good friend who I’ve long lost touch with. I like their simplicity and versatility. We’ll just have to see where they take me from here…

 

 

Leave a Reply

