Electrifying hand dyed yarns, with personality!

This is my current assortment of baby items for my little girl.

To the far left we have not just my first hat for her, but also my first hand spun yarn!!!  I got a lovely drop spindle kit from a seller on Etsy.com (I so wish that I had written down the name of that seller *facepalm*) that included a small bag of lovely alpaca roving.  Given that it was a sampler size bag, there wasn’t much yarn to be had from it, so I took it to the store with me and found thread in a perfectly matching off white and plied the two together.  It turned out to be just enough for a tiny little baby hat!  Pattern was just a simple 2×2 rib stitch.  Hopefully it will fit her for a while since the rib stitch is so nice and stretch.

The middle hat is what little progress I’ve made on my Swirl Hat.  It’s hard to knit tiny like that when you’re in and out of town, and have a migraine for 3 days straight 😛

On the far right is one of the Two Lace Baby Hats done up in a mystery white acrylic yarn I had sitting around from a failed blankie attempt for a friend of mine.  Very fun and quick knit.

At the top of the picture is the first pair of booties I ever knit.  I used Magic Slippers, and some random colored Pattons sock yarn I purchased the day I found out I was pregnant.  My husband was out of town at the time, and I wanted him to be the first to know, problem was he wasn’t going to be home again for 5 more days!!!  I couldn’t handle the suspense, I needed something to keep my hands busy.  Through much trial and error, I knit up 3 of these little booties (the first was scrapped because EW!).  The second my husband got home I gave him a bag with the slippers inside and told him he had to open it before anything else!  He pulled the slippers out, looked at them for a second, then turned to me with a shocked look and just said, “Really?!”  It was perfect, we were both so excited!  I hope I can remember his face like that for the rest of my life, priceless.

I’m still currently working on a semi-custom blankie design for the little jelly bean.  I think I have the yarn I want to use, and I’m fairly sure I know what colors I’m going to dye it, but that will be a post all it’s own.  For now I think I’ll try to finish that Swirl Hat…

Once the real laptop (using the iPad as a last ditch effort) is up and running, I swear the picture will be turned the right way.

Leave a Reply

