Electrifying hand dyed yarns, with personality!

20120703-140452.jpg

Current work in progress which I am very sad I started during a Southern California summer (it’s hot and humid and the blanket is very effective), but it’s all for a good cause.  It’s a gift for some very special friends of mine who will be getting married August 12!

It’s the Knit Bright Stripes Baby Blanket pattern, though obviously without the stripes, and in a larger, more cuddle-on-the-couch-date-night kind of size.  I’m using Loops & Threads Charisma in off white, on size 13 bamboo Clover circulars.  Yes the yarn is acrylic, and maybe to some a little below par, but one of the recipients of this blanket is highly allergic to cats (of which I have 2, who very much enjoy sitting on my knitting) and I wanted the blanket to be very washable.  Besides, it’s still a very nice snugly yarn, and affordable considering the fact that this blanket will probably take at least 8 skeins.

I’m enjoying how soft and snuggly the blanket is turning out, very squishy!  I’m contemplating threading a ribbon or other yarn through the yarn overs on each side, using their wedding colors.  Also on the last corner I’ve mocked up a pattern to put their initials in a heart… I’m going to have to swatch that and see how it goes.  Most of my self designed patterns end up squished or stretched.  😛

Comments on: "WIP: Wedding Blanket" (1)

  1. […] as I have a full week working for The Mouse, and what I really should be doing is working on the wedding blanket whenever it’s cool enough to do so.  I will stick to my plan to spin at least one day a […]

Leave a Reply

