Electrifying hand dyed yarns, with personality!

20120707-212554.jpg

So, this whole pregnancy/no sleep thing is finally getting to me.  My body hurts from tossing and turning all night.  So I figured this would be the perfect time to sit bolt upright in a hard, straight-backed chair and do some spinning!  *har!*

But yes, that is the plan, as I have finished the Swirl Hat for the soon-to-be little one.  (Note to self: when the next row calls for knitting 3 stitches together, knit more loosely.)

I have hopes of going all Yarn Harlot and setting aside one day a week to practice spinning, which I am still very new at.  So new that I’m only using a drop spindle, and have not yet invested in a wheel.

I found the spindle on Etsy (some sellers have really great starter kits), and purchased a full pound of undyed wool at The Village Spinning and Weaving in Solvang, CA on a short road trip my husband and I took in December last year.  A few months later I managed to dye it, using the Kool-Aid method (super easy and leaves the wool smelling like fruit!).  Finally, I’m getting around to spinning it.  Slowly but surely.

Progress will probably not be so quick as I have a full week working for The Mouse, and what I really should be doing is working on the wedding blanket whenever it’s cool enough to do so.  I will stick to my plan to spin at least one day a week, though who knows what day that will be.

Leave a Reply

