Electrifying hand dyed yarns, with personality!

I’m Dying Over Here!

*Har*

So apparently off in my la la land, “tomorrow” means nearly two days from now.  Ah well, better late and all that.

I’d been trying to find the perfect colors to dye the yarn for my little girl’s blanket.  I’ve never been much of a pink person, so I was thinking on an orange, yellow, pink mixture of some sort.  As I’m still an amateur at all this dying stuff I gathered together some Lemon Yellow, Scarlet Red, and Magenta RIT dyes (found in the laundry aisle of most major stores) and started experimenting.

Follow the package directions when mixing the dye.  I put each color in a separate glass jar (awesome way to recycle old spaghetti jars and be able to save extra dye).  I also added just a tablespoon on vinegar to each jar, to help the dye stick to the yarn.

Mixed Dyes

I ended up mixing 1/4 part Red, with 5 parts Yellow to get the right orange.  The other two colors I wanted (Yellow and Magenta) seemed good as is.  Just to double-check the colors I dipped a piece of the yarn I was going to work with in for a few minutes, just to get a general idea of it.

While I was doing all the mixing and science, I had my yarn soaking and warming on the stove.  *always use a designated pot for yarn*

Water+Yarn+1/4 cup Vinegar

I heated the yarn, vinegar, and water to low/med low.  You want the water warm, but not bubbling, AT ALL!  Once the water was warm, I poured the dye in.  Yellow on one side, Magenta on the other, and speckles of Orange in the middle (a turkey baster is a handy tool for this).  It’s super important to not move the pot after this, because that will mix the colors even more, and make the yarn nearly a solid color (which I didn’t want).

Don’t Move the Pot!!!!

Put the lid on the pot, and let it hang for a good hour.  Check it every so often to make sure it doesn’t reach a boil.

After the hour , check to see if the dye is exhausted (the water should be at least mostly clear), if it’s not, let it go for a while longer until it is.  Once the yarn has sucked up every bit of dye it can, turn off the heat, take off the lid, and let it cool on its own.  If it’s a 100% wool yarn (or anything that might felt) make sure to let it completely cool before transferring it to a wool wash to take out any excess dye.  Then, hang that sucker up to dry!  *I like to roll my yarn up in a towel and step on it to get out some of the extra water first*

Once its dried, ball it up!

Not very true to color… thank you iPhone 😛

This isn’t the yarn I’m going to use for the baby blanket, it’s a blank sock yarn I had floating around.  I liked the colors enough (much darker than that pic) that I will do things the same way, but on a larger scale.

On that note I’ve started yet another baby hat with it.  They’re so quick, and I get to try out new yarns and patters, I’m addicted!

A little closer to the true color

This is just a simple roll brim hat so that I could get a good idea of how the blanket will look.

This was just one of many ways to dye your own yarn, and frankly my new favorite.  I’d love to hear about other dying styles and recommendations on dyes, if anyone has them.

Comments on: "I’m Dying Over Here!" (2)

  1. […] time dying my yarn for the little sheep’s baby blanket recently.  I used the same hot water dying method I showed off recently.  Apparently, not my best […]

  2. […] time dying my yarn for the little sheep’s baby blanket recently.  I used the same hot water dying method I showed off recently.  Apparently, not my best […]

Leave a Reply

