Electrifying hand dyed yarns, with personality!

Obviously I’m Slow

At least with my knitting and getting back to the blog.

I did have a few things going that messed with me getting back to the computer though.  August 5 was Josh and my 5 year wedding anniversary, and also baby shower Numero Uno.  It was a long day that involved a mommy convention type thing with a friend and her kids, then a long drive to north LA for the shower.  Only there did my husband and I actually get to see each other, since he’d had to work all morning.

Among the shower gifts, my mom and grandmother brought a camera for us.  Much needed for the baby, but also it can pull double duty here (YAY!).  That is, once I get the hang of it.  It’s a little more complex than my iPhone camera…

 

Some of my first attempts didn’t turn out so well, but I am getting the hang of it.

 

Those are pictures of the beautiful (I promise it is, the pictures are just that lousy) bonsai tree Josh got me as an anniversary gift.  A traditional 5 year anniversary gift is wood, and he’d managed to remember that I’ve been eyeballing these little trees for a few years now.  He’s good like that 🙂

In other news…

The wedding blanket is done!  Mostly, and late, as the wedding was on the 12’th.  Still needs a good wash, and since I didn’t finish it in time for the actual wedding I’m going to add some ribbon from my bridesmaid bouquet to it as well.  (Pictures to come.  I need a cat free place to block it out first.)  Almost makes it worth having their gift late, eh? Who needs a heavy blanket in San Diego in August any how?

As promised, with the wedding blanket done, I have a new project!  I finally got started on the little sheep’s baby blanket!

Much swatching and sketching was had…

I am liking how the dye job turned out very much.  I don’t think it will be too over powering for a simple pattern to still be seen in it.  I’m also hoping that the pattern turns out well enough that I can put it up here for others to use once I’m done.

Over the last two days, after all the swatching and working for The Mouse, this is what I have so far…

Not all that much.  I promise it’s more interesting that just plain old garter stitch, it’s just really hard to see it at this point.

As you may recall, my wrist has been acting up due to knitting on a deadline.  I’ve gotten myself a more ridged wrist brace that I now where to bed, when I knit, and throughout the day as I need it.  Knock on wood, it seems to be doing the trick! Also knitting on the baby blanket, with more than just big repetitive stitched like the wedding blanket had, really seems to help as well.  (Any other suggestions for help with wrist pain would be greatly appreciated.  Since I’m 34 weeks pregnant still, no pain meds though.)

Now that I’m able to get back in the loop for a bit… What’s everyone else working on?

 

Leave a Reply

