Electrifying hand dyed yarns, with personality!

I’m 35.5 weeks along… and I have about 6 inches done on my baby blanket.  It might be time to panic.

Saw the doctor this morning, and everything is going well, but he did instruct me to keep track of where the closest hospital would be while we are in San Diego this weekend.  As if I wasn’t already nervous enough about getting everything done before the little sheep’s arrival, now I have to worry that she’ll be early and born out-of-town where we won’t have any of our hospital things.

If any of you read The Yarn Harlot (and I’m sure there are others as well) you might buy into the superstition that babies don’t show up until their blanket is done.  I have found this to be true, assuming I started the blanket before the baby showed up in the first place.  The last blanket I made was for a friend of mine.  I was quite late on finishing her little boy’s blanket… but he didn’t show up until a day and a half after the blanket was done, making him nearly a week over due (sorry Lindsey!).

Now I’m not trying to stretch out my pregnancy a crazy amount of time, I’d just prefer her to show up a little closer to the date we were planning on being ready by.  I know we’ll never be truly and completely ready, but I’ve still just got a few (okay, more than a few) things on my list to get done before she makes her entrance.

So, I am plugging long on the blanket.  I have the bottom border done so far, and am about an inch or so  into the body of it.

 

I’m keeping the heart border all the way around, and that’s about as fancy as it’s going to get.  I’ve used nearly a full hank of my hand dyed Patton’s Classic Wool, in a colorway I think I’m calling Fuzzy Navel (yes a baby blanket made with yarn that’s named after booze is a little odd, but that’s how we like things around here).  I’m hoping through some trial and error to post this pattern up here once I’m done.

In the meantime, here’s who keeps stealing my seat when I’m trying to put up new posts.

Ivy

 

*I’m also playing around with picture size… bigger better???

**And still trying to figure out the new camera 😛

Leave a Reply

