Electrifying hand dyed yarns, with personality!

All Caught Up! (For Now…)

Well, I’m plugging along on the baby blanket.  I am not a fast knitter by any means, and my dumb wrist (although getting better, yay!) isn’t helping me be any faster.  I haven’t decided yet just how long I want to make the blanket, but I’m about half way in either case.

Baby Blanket and Duffy 🙂

Here it is posed with a gift from a co-worker of mine, Duffy, in the bassinet we are going to use until we move to a larger apartment after the baby comes.

I’m loving how the yarn is knitting up!  Now might be a good time to confess that I can’t stand self striping or self patterning yarn.  Too predictable in my opinion.  I love how randomly this is knitting up, and yet it’s somehow evenly balanced throughout the blanket.  It looks like I’m going to have to dye up another two skeins before all is said and done.  I’m 37 weeks today, and little girl sheep could show up at any time really, so I’m trying to spend all my free time knitting on the blanket.

Fortunately, free time I now have!  Saturday was my last day working for the Mouse for now.  I’m going to miss it, especially my co-workers, but in all honesty I’m hoping to stay home with my little girl (dying yarn???) if at all possible.  It was a fun job while it lasted, and I’d love to work for them again, but family is first, and I’m having a hard time imagining handing over my little girl to a stranger for part of her days just so I can go sit at a desk.  I guess only time will tell how that one will play out.

***

Another big milestone… I finally finished off, AND gifted my friends their wedding blanket!

The Happy Couple ❤

Arn’t they sweet!  I was lucky enough to have both of them at my baby shower in San Diego last week.

Here’s a close up of the heart detail…

Since I was late in getting the blanket to them in the first place (their wedding was on Aug 12, my shower, the 26th.  Oops!), and since I was IN the wedding, I used a ribbon from my bridesmaid bouquet to thread through the heart.  I think it was just the touch the blanket needed.  It turned out super cuddly and squishy, and I’m so happy they liked it 🙂

***

Well, that’s me getting caught up.  I keep thinking about knitting myself a nice slouchy sweater for Fall, after the blanket is done, and probably after my little girl decides to show up.  What are you all working on, or daydreaming about working on as the case may be?

 

Leave a Reply

